A Presbyterian congregation is led and governed by a council of Elders called a Session.  They have the primary responsibility to manage and advance ministries and missions through committees of members and friends, to be active in the community in the name of Christ, and to serve in the larger denominational levels (the presbytery, the synod, and the general assembly).

Committees of the FPC Session are:

  • Christian Education
  • Congregational Life and Membership
  • Finance
  • Mission and Evangelism
  • Personnel and Administration
  • Property
  • Worship

Ordained PC(USA) Elders currently serving on Session are:

  • Margaret Barton (Congregational Life and Membership, Personnel and Administration)
  • Amy Elliott (Finance, Personnel and Administration)
  • Tami Thompson (Christian Education, Worship, Nominating Committee)
  • Cathy Blackburn (Congregational Life and Membership)
  • Edmon Perkins (Worship, Property)
  • Bruce Weems (Finance, Mission and Evangelism)
  • Justin Isaacs (Property, Mission and Evangelism, Nominating Committee)
  • Brooke Jackson-Holman (Christian Education)

Our Clerk of Session is Teresa Mayhue.  The Session typically meets the fourth Sunday of the month at 12 noon in the office conference room.  All meetings are open to the membership of the congregation.  The Moderator of Session is Scott White, installed pastor at FPC/Ada. Our Presbytery Commissioner is Teresa Mayhue.

First Presbyterian Church of Ada also commissions members to serve as Deacon.  Deacon means “servant”.  Our deacons lead us in servant ministry.  Currently serving as Commissioned Deacons are:

  • Lorene Perkins
  • Justin Isaacs
  • Matt Sweatt
  • Ellen Sweatt
  • Karah Thompson
  • Cheryl Weems
  • Linda Wells
  • Miriam White